FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Literature

Literature Resource Center
Requires a library card
Literature Resource Center offers up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available. Literature Resource Center offers full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines.
Artemis Literary Sources
Requires a library card
An integrated research experience, Artemis Literary Sources brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows searching across Literacy Criticism, Literature Resource Center and Something About the Author all within one interface.
Credo
Requires a library card
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject from Accounting to Art History and Shakespeare to Einstein