Home Page
My Account   Contact Info      
.  
Free Databases
My Media Mall
AskAway Virtual Reference
 
 

Rockford Public Library Electronic Resources

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer, if you have a Rockford Public Library card.  To use the databases, type in your library card number when prompted.  The titles in gray are only available for use at the library. The titles in dark blue can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password.  This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at 965-7606, option 4.


Database Categories

Automotive  Biographies  Books and Literature 

Business, Consumer Information, and Philanthropy    
Education 
 Encyclopedias and Almanacs  Foreign Language  Genealogy 
Health 
Homework HelpJournals and Magazines 

Law and Government  Natural Sciences   

Newspapers Social Sciences


   
Automotive
Mitchell Repair Mitchell Repair offers comprehensive auto repair information, estimating, and service information. 
This database is only available at the Main Library

Top of page

   
Biographies
Biography Resource Center A comprehensive biographical database, it includes authors, newsmakers, entertainers, political figures, historical figures, artists, and athletes. 
Wilson Biographies Plus Contains more than 100,000 biographies and obituaries.  Many have full text and over 32,000 have photographs

Top of page

Books and Literature

Books in Print

Find out which books and other materials are in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming in all areas. 
This database is only available at the library.
 

DearReader.com

Subscribe to the service and receive emails containing excerpts from popular books!

I-Share

Formerly Illinet, this catalog allows users to search for books from higher educational institutions throughout Illinois. 

Literature Resource Center

Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. 

Magill on Literature

Provides users with information on literary works, reviewed critical analyses, and brief plot summaries. 

MAX

Search for books and other materials at the Rockford Public Library using our online catalog, MAX. 

NIC Catalog

Search for items at most Northern Illinois libraries using the NIC Catalog. 

Novelist

Find a good book to read!  Novelist lets you search for fiction titles by title, author, plot, genre or subject. 

Novelist K-8

Novelist K-8 works just like Novelist, but is geared towards kids in kindergarten through 8th grade. 

My Media Mall

My Media Mall lets your checkout ebooks and MP3 audio books and music for three weeks.

Statewide Illinois Library Catalog

A catalog that allows users to search libraries throughout the entire state of Illinois.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

TumbleBooks TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated,
talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love.
WorldCat A worldwide catalog of all books, audiovisual, Internet resources, and other materials available.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Top of page

Business, Consumer Information, and Philanthropy

ABI Inform

ABI Inform offers abstract and full text articles about business and management, both in the United States and Internationally.  This database is only available at the library. 

Associations Unlimited

Contains information on over 400,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields. 

Bus Dateline

Business Dateline offers regional information to businesses about trends, activities, and executives.  This database is only available at the library. 

Bus Industry

Business and Industry offers facts, figures, and other information about international public companies, private companies, and market information.  This database is only available at the library. 

Bus Management

Business and Management Practices including information on technology, business plans, benchmarking, and corporate culture.  This database is only available at the library. 

BusinessOrgs

Information on business organizations and trade associations.  This database is only available at the library. 

Consumer Index

Information on many different types of consumer products, including appliances, automobiles, travel destinations, and others.  This database is only available at the library. 

Disclosure

Disclosure Corporate Snapshots offers information on companies publicly traded on U.S. exchanges.  This database is only available at the library. 

EconLit

Over 780,000 articles from 1969 to the present on economics.  This database is only available at the library. 

Foundation Directory

A database which lists 80,000 grant makers and over 500,000 grants.  This database is only available at the library. 

Illinois Funding Source

Delivers timely and accurate details on foundations and corporate givers.  This database is only available at the library. 

Illinois Skills Match

Matches up job seekers with employers that are looking for employees. 

MediaRevDigest

Media Review Digest offers reviews of educational and entertainment media.  This database is only available at the library. 

Reference USA

Provides information on over 13 million U.S. businesses and 120 million U.S. households. 

Value Line

An independent, objective investment database that offers information on stocks, mutual funds, special situations, options, and convertibles. This database is only available at the library. 

WorldScope

Offers financial information on public companies worldwide.  This database is only available at the library. 

Top of page

Education

ERIC

Over 1.1 million journal articles and reports in education.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2.    

FAFSA

Find out information about the FAFSA program and fill out a FAFSA application online. 

MediaRevDigest

Media Review Digest offers reviews of educational and entertainment media.  This database is only available at the library. 

Psyc First

Information on psychology and how psychology is applied to various other fields.  This database is only available at the library. 

Teacher Reference Center

Indexing and abstracts of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. 

Testing and Education Reference Center

Helps users meet their educational goals by identifying scholarships, practicing tests on-line, and offering a database of thousands of colleges and graduate schools. 

Cqresearcher

Congressional Quarterly 

Top of page

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

Fact Search

Facts and statistics about economics, the environment, health, political issues, and social issues.  This database is only available at the library.   

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. 

Searchasaurus

A fun and easy way for kids to search magazines, encyclopedias, pictures, and a dictionary. 

World Almanac

Includes encyclopedia entries, biographies, facts, and statistics from the Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

An encyclopedia in Spanish for students. 

 

Una enciclopedia en español para los estudiantes.

World Book Online

Contains more than 25,000 encyclopedia articles as well as magazine articles, a dictionary, pictures, sounds, and videos. 

Top of page

Foreign Language

Clase Periodica

Clase and Periodica offers an index of Latin journals in the sciences and humanities.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Informe

Indexing, images, and full-text of popular Hispanic magazines. 

Rosetta Stone

Rosetta Stone offers a natural way to learn foreign languages. 

World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

An encyclopedia in Spanish for students.

 

Una enciclopedia en español para los estudiantes.

Top of page

Genealogy

Ancestry Plus

Search U.S. Immigration records, birth records, marriage records, death records, and U.S. Census records to find ancestors.  This database is only available at the library. 

Heritage Quest

Find ancestors using census records from 1790-1930 and other records such as Revolutionary War files and Freedman’s Bank. 

Top of page

Health

Medline

A database that covers all areas of medicine, as well as veterinary medicine and health service administration.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

PDR

Physician’s Desk Reference offers information on prescription medications, drug interactions, and herbal supplements. 

Cqresearcher

Congressional Quarterly 

Top of page

Homework Help

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. 

Middle Search Plus

Full text of nearly 140 magazines for middle and junior high school research. 

Novelist

A reader’s advisory tool that allows users to search for books by title, author, plot, or subject. 

Novelist K - 8 A reader’s advisory tool that allows users to search for books by title, author, plot, or subject. 
Student Research Center Search magazines, newspapers, biographies, Radio & TV transcripts, and much more.

Primary Search

Full text of nearly 70 magazines for elementary school research. 

Searchasaurus

A fun and easy way for kids to search magazines, encyclopedias, pictures, and a dictionary. 

World Almanac

Includes encyclopedia entries, biographies, facts, and statistics from the Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

World Book Online

Contains more than 25,000 encyclopedia articles as well as magazine articles, a dictionary, pictures, sounds, and videos. 

Grolier Online

Contains information on Lands and People & Amazing Animals of the world.

Cqresearcher

Congressional Quarterly 

Top of page

Journals and Magazines

Article First

Index of articles from the contents pages of journals covering medicine, business, humanities, popular culture, science, technology, and social science.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

ECO

Electronic Collections Online is a collection of scholarly journals, including topics such as agriculture, history, literature, and psychology.   This database is only available at the library. 

Master FILE Premier

A multidisciplinary database, Master FILE Premier offers articles from nearly 1,950 reference publications. 

Middle Search Plus

Full text of nearly 140 magazines for middle and junior high school research. 

Papers First

An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Periodical Abstracts

Abstracts from general and academic journals on subjects including business, economics, literature, psychology, religion, and women’s studies.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Primary Search

Full text of nearly 70 magazines for elementary school research. 

Proceedings

An index of worldwide conference proceedings.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Wilson Select Plus

Full text articles in the humanities, science, education, and business.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Cqresearcher

Congressional Quarterly 

Top of page

Law and Government

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Users can find out information about laws in Illinois, current Senate and House members, and read the Illinois Constitution. 

Loislaw

Allows user to search by primary law, secondary law, public record, and legal news and business information. 

Lawchek

Lawcheck gives the user the ability to search in eleven different areas of law to find state specific information. 

State Tax Form Links

Allows the user to find a number of different tax forms for any state. 

U.S. Government Publications

Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

US Tax Forms and Publications

Tax forms from the Internal Revenue Service. 

Cqresearcher

Congressional Quarterly 

Top of page

Natural Sciences

AGRICOLA

Contains articles about all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science.  This database is only available at the library. 

Basic BIOSIS

Includes information on biology and other life sciences.  This database is only available at the library. 

EBSCO Animals

EBSCO Animals provides information on a variety of topics relating to animals. 

GEO Base

Information on different aspects of geography, geology, and ecology. This database is only available at the library. 

Grolier Online Contains information on Amazing Animals of the world.

Top of page

Newspapers

News Abs

Newspaper Abstracts includes news, reviews, editorials, editorial cartoons, commentaries from over 50 U.S. newspapers.  This database is only available at the library. 

Newsbank

Offers electronic editions of local, regional and national newspapers, as well as articles from familiar magazines. 

Top of page

Social Sciences

AH Search

Arts and Humanities Search allows users to locate articles on the arts and humanities, as well as related social and science information.  This database is only available at the library. 

Alt Press Index

Alternative Press Index indexes journals which cover social, political, social, and economic change.  This database is only available at the library. 

Alt Press Index Archive

The Alternative Press Index Archive allows users to find articles published from 1969-1990 on cultural, social, political, and economic change.  This database is only available at the library. 

CWI

Contemporary Women’s Issues offers information about women’s health and human rights issues from around the globe.  This database is only available at the library. 

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

LISTA indexes, coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. 

PsycFirst

Information on psychology and how psychology is applied to various other fields.  This database is only available at the library. 

SIRS Researcher

Contains information on worldwide scientific, social, economic, political issues.  To obtain the authorization and password to use this database, please call Adult Services at 965-7606, option 2. 

Grolier Online Contains information on Lands and People

Cqresearcher

Congressional Quarterly 

Top of page

 


 
explore. Experience. enlighten.

Copyright ©2008 Rockford Public Library