FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Social Sciences

Ancestry Library Edition
Available only at library
Search U.S. Immigration records, birth records, marriage records, death records, and U.S. Census records to find ancestors.
CQResearcher
Requires a library card
Access from home
Congressional Quarterly’s online database offers in-depth and unbiased reporting of issues in the news. Find background information on timely topics and access older reports to track how debates have changed over time.
Pop Culture Universe
Requires a library card
Access from home
An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Library Information Science and Technology Abstract
Requires a library card
Access from home
Includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from periodicals covering the subjects of librarianship, classification, cataloging, online information retrieval, information management, and more.
Daily Life - Through History
Requires a library card
Access from home
Information about past eras for students and teachers; includes primary source documents, topic guides, maps, and a dictionary.