FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Homework Help

Biography in Context
Requires a library card
This database contains full-text biographical articles on more than half a million influential people from around the world. Contemporary and historical authors, newsmakers, entertainers, politicians, and athletes are included.
Explora
Requires a library card
Explora offers students and teachers a simple search that delivers relevant full-text articles, essays, and primary source documents. Other features include easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic, topic overviews, Associated Press videos, text-to-speech for HTML articles, reading level indicators, and an English Curriculum Standards Module to help educators find material that meets Common Core and state-specific curriculum standards.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Requires a library card
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Literature Criticism
Requires a library card
Print material delivered in a digital format! Dig deeper into literature criticism with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available with tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips.
Middle Search Plus
Requires a library card
Full-text articles from more than 140 popular magazines for middle school students. Thousands of biographies, historical essays, photographs, maps, and primary source documents are included. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Novelist
Requires a library card
Find a good book to read! NoveList lets you search for fiction by title, author, plot, genre or subject. Retrieve author read-alikes, book recommendations, book lists, and book discussion guides.
Novelist K-8
Requires a library card
Novelist K-8 works just like NoveList, but is geared towards kids in kindergarten through 8th grade.
Primary Search
Requires a library card
Full-text articles from nearly 70 magazines for elementary school students. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, photos, and maps are included. Full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Scholastic GO!
Requires a library card
America the Beautiful is an excellent resource for students in grade 4 and above. This is an unrivaled, fact-filled, interest-driven research tool for learning more on the United States, noted Americans and U.S. history. It also offers detailed articles, interactive maps, and other media which introduce students to our nation’s presidents, cities, and natural wonders—all the things that make our country unique.
World Almanac
Requires a library card
Includes encyclopedia entries, biographies, facts, and statistics from the Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
World Book Kids
Requires a library card
World Book Kids features content and tools developed especially for young students. The site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read articles, multimedia, comparison tools, interactive games and activities, and teacher resources.
World Book Online
Requires a library card
Contains more than 25,000 encyclopedia articles as well as magazine articles, a dictionary, pictures, sounds, and videos.
CQresearcher
Requires a library card
Congressional Quarterly’s online database offers in-depth and unbiased reporting of issues in the news. Find background information on timely topics and access older reports to track how debates have changed over time.
Eyewitness Books
Requires a library card
Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering every major subject from Accounting to Art History and Shakespeare to Einstein