FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

Explora
Requires a library card
Explora offers students and teachers a simple search that delivers relevant full-text articles, essays, and primary source documents. Other features include easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic, topic overviews, Associated Press videos, text-to-speech for HTML articles, reading level indicators, and an English Curriculum Standards Module to help educators find material that meets Common Core and state-specific curriculum standards.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Requires a library card
Over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Pop Culture Universe
Requires a library card
An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
World Almanac
Requires a library card
Includes encyclopedia entries, biographies, facts, and statistics from the Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
World Book Kids
Requires a library card
World Book Kids is the premier online resource developed especially for young users. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.
World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Requires a library card
An encyclopedia in Spanish for students. An encyclopedia in Spanish for students. Una enciclopedia en espaƱol para los estudiantes.
World Book Online
Requires a library card
Contains more than 25,000 encyclopedia articles as well as magazine articles, a dictionary, pictures, sounds, and videos.