FREE DATABASES

The majority of our databases can be used from your home computer if you have a Rockford Public Library card.
Databases Key
Databases that require a library card number.
Databases Key
Databases ONLY available for use at the library.
Databases Key
Databases that can be accessed from home, but need authorization and a password. This is available by calling the Adult Services Department at (815) 965-7606, option 4.

Education

Daily Life through History
Requires a library card
Information about past eras for students and teachers; includes primary source documents, topic guides, maps, and a dictionary.
DMV Practice Tests Illinois & Wisconsin
Free Illinois and Wisconsin Driver Education program that provides practice tests for cars, motorcycles, and CDL. The site also includes three drivers manuals for cars and motorcycles, an FAQ section and detailed answers to 100 DMV questions.
ERIC
Requires a library card
Over 1.1 million journal articles and reports in education. *Login using your library card number, then select this catalog from the drop-down list.
Explora
Requires a library card
Explora offers students and teachers a simple search that delivers relevant full-text articles, essays, and primary source documents. Other features include easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic, topic overviews, Associated Press videos, text-to-speech for HTML articles, reading level indicators, and an English Curriculum Standards Module to help educators find material that meets Common Core and state-specific curriculum standards.
FAFSA
Obtain information about federal student aid and fill out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid.
Pop Culture Universe
Requires a library card
An authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present.
Teacher Reference Center
Requires a library card
Includes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from the most popular journals and magazines for teachers and administrators.
Testing and Education Reference Center
Requires a library card
Search for scholarships; access test preparation books; take practice tests for the GED and other exams; access information about colleges, graduate schools, and careers.
CQresearcher
Requires a library card
Congressional Quarterly’s online database offers in-depth and unbiased reporting of issues in the news. Find background information on timely topics and access older reports to track how debates have changed over time.
Universal Class
Requires a library card
Learn something new today! Over 500 online continuing education courses are available here.